Mercer’s Rule, Bradley headline A-Sun postseason golf awards

MACON, Ga. (MERCER RELEASE) – Mercer junior Trey Rule was named the Atlantic Sun Golfer of the Year and head coach Steve Bradley was tabbed A-Sun Coach of the Year as the conference released its men’s golf postseason awards list on Tuesday. Seniors Hans Reimers and James Beale joined Rule on the All-Conference first team, while freshmen Emmanuel Kountakis and Sean Smothers both earned All-Freshman team selections.

Rule became the first Mercer golfer to take home Golfer of the Year honors since Walt DeLoach earned the distinction in 1993. Bradley’s claim to Coach of the Year established the first time Mercer has procured the award.

Mercer’s three first-team selections were the most in program history and came on the heels of the team’s first ever A-Sun Conference Championship, secured on April 22. The two All-Freshman team selections were the most since 2010, when William Meason and Matt Kocolowski earned spots on the squad.

- Advertisement -

Rule captured individual medalist honors at two events this year, most recently taking the top individual placement at the A-Sun Championship. The Eatonton, Georgia native was also co-individual medalist at the SunTrust Gator Invitational and boasted top-15 placements in eight of 11 events this season.

In 33 competitive rounds, Rule averaged 71.3 strokes per outing, led the team with 112 birdies and shot in the 60’s 10 different times. Rule’s selection was the second-straight season in which he earned All-Conference recognition after picking up second team honors a year ago.

Beale took home All-Conference hardware for the second time in his career after being named to the league’s second team in 2012. Beale posted a scoring average of 71.63 while landing five top-five finishes and four top-20 placements in 2013-14.

Reimers collected A-Sun first team honors for the second straight year after notching three top-five, three top -10 and four top-20 placements as a senior. The Albany, Oregon native claimed a share of individual medalist honors at the Brickyard Collegiate Championship and notched 97 birdies in 33 rounds of competition.

Kountakis and Smothers earned spots on the All-Freshman team after solidifying their position in the team lineup this fall. Kountakis averaged 73.6 strokes per round, claimed a share of individual medalist honors at the Brickyard Collegiate and added another pair of top-20 finishes. Smothers averaged 74.45 strokes per outing and collected two top-10’s and one top-20 finish throughout the year.

As winners of the A-Sun Championship, the Bears have garnered the league’s automatic qualifier to the NCAA Regionals, set to be contested May 15-17. Selections for each of the regional sites are scheduled to be announced live on the Golf Channel on Monday, May 5 from 10 a.m.-11 a.m.